Porridge Champion Neal Robertson regains the Golden Spurtle

By | Oct 12, 2010

Soctland wins the Golden Spurtle for Porridge MakingThe winner of the 2010 world title and prestigious Golden Spurtle Trophy  is Neal Robertson from the Tannochbrae Tearoom, Auchtermuchty. Neal believes the local water from the hills above Auchtermuchty and the use of his unique Spon rather than the traditional spurtle all help to make the winning porridge.

Neil is quoted as saying “It’s brilliant bringing the title home for Scotland. It was a wake-up call last year to see how seriously porridge is taken across Scotland and around the world.”

Last year the title was one by the United States but this year the ultimate prize in the porridge world returned to the home country thanks to Neal’s winning ways with porridge. Carrbridge man Ian Bishop, who competes every year and was the last Scot to win the title in 2008, also vied for the 2010 Golden Spurtle prize.

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© 2007 Taste of Scotland, - WordPress Themes by DBT